Travel advice regarding the COVID- 19 outbreak (10/03/2020)

Travel Advice: Avoid non-essential travel

Due to the increasing spread of the coronavirus in various countries, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, following its previous travel advice and relevant guidelines by the Ministry of Health, wishes to advise Cypriot citizens who are currently abroad or are planning to travel abroad to avoid traveling to areas/countries with a high number of cases and generally to avoid travel unless absolutely necessary.

Countries/regions with a high incidence of confirmed cases include the People's Republic of China (especially Hubei Province) and the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, the Republic of Korea (South Korea), Iran, Japan, Italy and Singapore.

It is also noted that Italy has implemented restrictions of movement throughout the country. Movement is permitted only for specific justified reasons (e.g. medical, professional reasons/ food purchase). Any citizens who wish to move within the country must prove by a statement provided by the police authorities their reason for moving. Public transport, airports and ports operate normally.

Furthermore, Israel has imposed temporary bans on foreign nationals entering the country as of Thursday 12/03/2020 (20:00 local time), except for those who have a permanent residence permit (e.g. diplomats, employees, students). Those who are allowed entry will have to remain in their place of permanent residence (self–quarantine) for 14 days under the control of the country's authorities. Hotels and dormitories are not considered permanent residences.

From Thursday 12/03/2020 (20:00 local time) onwards, foreign nationals who do not have a permanent residence (e.g. tourists, pilgrims) will not be allowed entrance, while those already in Israel will have to leave the country until the aforementioned date. The above restrictive measures will be reviewed within 14 days of their implementation. Travelers concerned are advised to follow the instructions of the Israeli Services - Ministry of Health for possible changes.

Further information is provided at the specific Travel Advice issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs for foreign countries.

With regard to travelers arriving to Cyprus, in case they have spent time in the countries /regions listed below by category within the last 14 days, they will be subject to a checkup including answering a questionnaire and having their temperature taken by the Ministry of Health relevant services upon arrival. If they have symptoms of the disease, a medical examination shall follow. In addition, the Ministry of Health has classified countries of origin and corresponding appropriate controls and measures as follows:

Category I: All passengers who have resided or traveled in the Hubei Province of China, Italy, Iran, and the Republic of Korea will be subject to mandatory medical supervision (quarantine) at their home (if available) or at premises designated by the Ministry of Health.

Category II: All passengers who have stayed or traveled in the remaining provinces of China (excluding Hubei Province) and Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, Japan, Germany, France, Spain, as well as in specific areas in Greece (Achaea, Elis and Zakynthos areas) will be subject to mandatory self-restriction at their home (if available) or at premises designated by the Ministry of Health for 14 days under telephone surveillance. Passengers are advised to avoid close contacts and travel, observe basic hygiene rules, monitor and report symptoms on the 1420 helpline.

Category III: All passengers arriving from Greece (excluding Achaea, Elis and Zakynthos areas), United Kingdom, Switzerland, Netherlands, Sweden, Belgium and Singapore should be self-monitored and in case of symptoms contact the 1420 Call Center. Observing basic hygiene rules, restricting travel to the most necessary are advisable. According to the instructions of the Ministry of Health, all passengers in categories I and II will be directed to the airport medical office, while ship passengers will be confined to their cabin. It is emphasized that the above instructions do not apply to travelers traveling on transit flights unless they have stayed overnight in the intermediate station.

Press releases, related announcements, and detailed instructions from the Department of Health for people who are either self-monitoring or quarantined are available at https://www.pio.gov.cy/coronavirus/

Citizens of the Republic of Cyprus who are currently or reside permanently in one of the above countries/regions or intend to visit any of them are urged to be particularly cautious, follow the local and international media regarding the developments on the COVID- 19 outbreak, follow the relevant instructions of these countries/regions and take measures of self-protection as per the instructions of their respective Authorities and the international Health Authorities.

Citizens of the Republic of Cyprus that are currently or planning to travel abroad are also urged to visit www.oikade.gov.cy to register in the system of voluntary registration for Cypriot citizens abroad.

In case of emergency, Cypriot citizens may communicate with the contact numbers below:

Diplomatic Missions of the Republic of Cyprus:

For consular assistance, Cypriot citizens may communicate with the nearest Diplomatic Missions of the Republic of Cyprus abroad. Their contact details could be accessed at the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs www.mfa.gov.cy under Cyprus Diplomatic Missions Abroad.

Duty Officer of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

+35 7 99660129 (only outside of [Cyprus] office hours)

Department of Crisis Management of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

+35 7 22801000 (24/7)

Consular Affairs Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

+35 7 22651113 (07:30/08:30 – 15:00/16:00, Monday - Friday)

*The MFA duty officer telephone line functions after office hours and aims at providing assistance in relation to emergencies.

For inquiries which are not of an urgent nature, you are kindly requested to contact the competent Department of the Ministry during regular office hours via switchboard 22-651000.