Statements by the Minister of Health after a meeting of the ministerial committee presided by the President of the Republic, 17/3/20

1) As of 3.00 am Cyprus time on 21st March 2020 and for a period of 14 days, all flights, excluding those carrying cargo, to Larnaka and Pafos airports are prohibited, coming from

the following countries: Bahrein Belarus Belgium Bulgaria Egypt Estonia Germany Hungary Ireland Israel Jordan Latvia Lebanon Lithuania Malta Netherlands Norway Poland Qatar Romania Russia Serbia Slovakia Sweden Switzerland Ukraine

United Kingdom

Greece

2) Paragraph 2(a) of the decree issued by the Minister of Health on 15 March 2020, vis-à-vis the presentation of a medical certificate that a coronavirus test has been administered, will continue to apply until 3.00 am on the 21st of March 2020.

This does not apply to those who:

- a) Have travelled abroad for medical reasons,
- b) Are abroad for a short stay for business or professional reasons,
- c) Are allowed to enter according to the Vienna treaty.

Note: As regards persons falling under category (a) above, they may be accompanied by the persons who were accompanying them during their departure as well as during their hospitalization.

Those who fall under the aforementioned categories must have a certification from the local diplomatic missions of the Republic of Cyprus, rather than a health certificate, which will be issued once the interested parties provide evidence substantiating the reasons mentioned in categories 2a and 2b (i.e. outbound ticket or a certification from the medical center where they were treated).

Flights with no passengers on-board flying to the Republic of Cyprus, are allowed, in order to transport persons wishing to depart from Cyprus.

The relevant decrees will be formulated depending on the circumstances as they unfold on a daily basis.

- 3) If the need arises, the Republic of Cyprus will charter special flights from Athens and London in order to bring back to the Republic passengers falling in the categories mentioned in paragraph 2a and 2b above.
- 4) It is imperative that all those, falling in the aforementioned categories, who enter the territory of the Republic of Cyprus will remain in a 14-day mandatory quarantine at a location designated by the state, excluding those who have been abroad for medical reasons. These persons will be self-confined in order to be able to carry out their treatment uninterruptedly.