Epidemiological risk assessment of countries concerning COVID-19, dated 29/3/2021

Following a <u>decision of the Council of Ministers</u>, on 18 February 2021, regarding the Action Plan for the gradual resumption of flights and the re-opening of airports, the Epidemiological Monitoring Unit of the Ministry of Health has made a re-evaluation of the epidemiological situation in various countries as regards COVID-19.

The categorization for the countries of the European Union and the European Economic Area (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) as well as Switzerland in the **Green, Orange** or **Red** Categories, is based upon that of the <u>European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control</u> (ECDC).

With regard to third countries (United Kingdom, Russia, Ukraine, Israel, Lebanon, United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, United States of America, Armenia, Georgia, Bahrein) as well as those countries included in the <u>updated list</u> of the European Council Recommendation 2021/89 for the gradual lifting of temporary restrictions for non-essential travel within the EU, these are evaluated epidemiologically by the Ministry of Health and are categorized into the Green, Orange and Red categories.

The following categorization of countries, based on the epidemiological risk assessment, **is extremely dynamic and may be modified at any moment** as the pandemic evolves and the epidemiological data changes. For this reason, new data would be announced and the list of countries updated frequently.

Green Category countries – Low risk countries at current stage

- Schengen member states: 1) Iceland
- Third countries: 1) Australia, 2) New Zealand, 3) Singapore, 4) Saudi Arabia

It is noted that passengers coming from the Green Category countries are not required to hold a COVID-19 test certificate or self-isolate.

It is clarified that during the period of **1-31 March 2021**, all passengers from countries of the Green Category **will undergo a PCR laboratory test upon their arrival in Cyprus**, the cost of which will be covered by the Republic of Cyprus. As of **1 April 2021**, **no restriction will be in place**.

<u>Orange Category countries</u> - Countries with possibly low risk but greater uncertainty compared to the Green Category

- European Union Member States: 1) Portugal
- <u>Third Countries</u>: 1) China (including Hong Kong and Macau), 2) South Korea, 3) Thailand

It is noted that passengers coming from Orange Category countries shall be required to undergo a PCR laboratory test within 72 hours prior to departure and to possess a certificate showing a negative PCR result.

It is also clarified that passengers from Orange Category countries, falling into the following categories, may undergo the molecular examination upon arrival in the Republic:

- 1. Cypriot citizens and family members (alien spouses and their underage children),
- 2. Persons legally residing in the Republic,
- 3. Persons entitled to enter the Republic under the Vienna Convention,
- 4. Persons, irrespective of nationality, whose countries of residence (Orange category) do not provide a laboratory testing service, upon substantiation and following an announcement by the Ministry of Health of the Republic of Cyprus.

It is noted that the **examination cost will be borne by themselves** and in addition, such persons **shall remain in self-isolation until the test result is issued**.

<u>Red Category countries</u> – Increased risk countries compared to the Green and Orange Categories:

• European Union Member States: 1) Austria, 2) Belgium, 3) Bulgaria, 4) France, 5) Croatia, 6) Luxemburg, 7) Romania, 8) Spain, 9) Italy, 10) Greece, 11) Malta, 12) Netherlands, 13) Hungary, 14) Poland, 15) Finland, 16) Slovakia, 17) Slovenia, 18)

Czech Republic, 19) Estonia, 20) Latvia, 21) Lithuania, 22) Sweden, 23) Germany, 24) Denmark, 25) Ireland

- Small states: 1) Andorra, 2) Monaco, 3) Vatican City, 4) San Marino
- Schengen member states: 1) Switzerland, 2) Liechtenstein, 3) Norway
- Third countries: 1) United Kingdom, 2) Israel, 3) Russia, 4) United Arab Emirates,
 5) Ukraine, 6) Jordan, 7) Lebanon, 8) Egypt, 9) Belarus, 10) Qatar, 11) Serbia, 12)
 United States of America, 13) Armenia, 14) Georgia, 15) Bahrein, 16) Rwanda

It is noted that passengers coming from Red Category countries shall be required to: a) undergo a PCR laboratory test within 72 hours prior to departure proving a negative PCR result and b) undergo a laboratory test upon their arrival in the Republic of Cyprus.

The **examination cost will be borne by themselves** and in addition, such persons **should** remain in self-isolation until the test result is issued.

The following categories of passengers may enter the Republic of Cyprus from Red Category countries, after having undergone, at their own expense, a laboratory test only upon their arrival in the Republic of Cyprus:

- 1. Cypriot citizens and family members (alien spouses and their underage children),
- 2. Persons legally residing in the Republic,
- 3. Persons entitled to enter the Republic under the Vienna Convention.

In such case, persons falling within the categories 1-3 above must **remain in mandatory self-isolation for 72 hours upon arrival** and **after the end of the 72-hour period they must undergo another PCR test**, at their own expense. If the repeat test is negative, they can then terminate their isolation. The test result must be sent to the following email address: monada@mphs.moh.gov.cy.

Grey Category countries (Special Permission):

Countries that are not mentioned in the aforementioned categories (green, orange and red) are considered to belong in the Grey Category (Special Permission). For the Grey Category

countries, entry into the Republic of Cyprus is only allowed for the following categories of passengers:

- 1. Cypriot citizens and family members (alien spouses and their underage children),
- 2. European citizens and citizens of European Economic Area countries (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway) and Switzerland,
- 3. Persons legally residing in the Republic,
- 4. Persons entitled to enter the Republic under the Vienna Convention,
- 5. Third country nationals who are allowed to enter the Republic of Cyprus following a special permission from the Republic, as this is defined in the Quarantine Decree (N.9) of 2021, as this is modified each time.

It is noted that passengers coming from countries of this Category shall be required to undergo a laboratory test at a certified lab within 72 hours prior to departure and to possess a certificate showing a negative PCR result. Excluding category number 2 above, the rest of the passengers may undergo the laboratory test upon their arrival in the Republic of Cyprus, at their own expense.

Passengers arriving in the Republic of Cyprus from the Grey Category countries (Special Permission) shall remain in mandatory self-isolation or mandatory quarantine for a period of 14 days or alternatively, in mandatory self-isolation or mandatory quarantine for a period of 10 days provided that they undergo another Covid-19 test (at their own expense) on the 10th day and the result comes back negative. The test result must be sent to the following email address: monada@mphs.moh.gov.cy.

It is underlined that **all passengers**, **regardless of country category**, **shall be obliged to submit an application for the <u>CyprusFlightPass</u> within 24 hours prior to their departure flight. Moreover, in order to insure public health and the monitoring of the epidemiological situation, a sample molecular laboratory testing of passengers on selected arriving flights will be carried out.**

It is noted that the above categorization of countries shall take effect on 1 April 2021.
