Recent News

Press Releases

25-02-2020 13:43

The Ministry of Health extends the controls for coronavirus to travellers from Northern Italy, Republic of Korea, Iran and Japan

Further to earlier announcements, the Ministry of Health would like to inform the public that, because of the continuous transmission of coronavirus in various countries apart from China and although the guidelines provided by the World Health Organization and the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC) have not been modified yet, the Epidemiology Monitoring Unit of the Ministry of Health extend their controls to passengers that have travelled during the last 14 days to the following countries:
- Italy (Lombardia and Veneto areas)
- Republic of Korea
- Iran
- Japan

Furthermore, people that have travelled to Cyprus from the countries mentioned above are recommended to avoid places with large crowds, to examine themselves in the event that they have symptoms of infection of the respiratory system (fever, cough or dyspnea) within a period of 14 days from their arrival, to stay at home and contact directly the Ambulance Call Service Centre by calling the 24-hour service line 1420, free of charge.