Recent News

Press Releases

28-02-2020 16:15

The Ministry of Health is intensifying control measures for coronavirus infection on passengers from Singapore and Hong Kong

Following on the previous announcements, the Ministry of Health wishes to inform the public that because of the continuing spread of coronavirus infection in countries outside of China despite the fact that instructions from the WHO and ECDC have not yet been changed, the Epidemiological Surveillance Unit of the Ministry of Health has intensified control measures on passengers who have travelled to the following countries within the last 14 days:

-       Italy, the regions of Lombardy, Venice, Emilia Romagna and Piedmont

-       South Korea

-       Iran

-       Japan

-       Singapore

-       Hong Kong

In parallel, any persons who have travelled to Cyprus from the above regions are advised to limit their movements, to avoid going to crowded places and to check themselves. If they develop any symptoms of respiratory illness (fever, cough or shortness of breath) within 14 days of their entry to Cyprus, they are advised to stay their residence and to immediately contact the helpline 1420 which is a 24-hour free call service.