Cookies management by TermsFeed Cookie Consent
Recent News

Press Releases

07-06-2024 16:32

European Statistics Competition: National Phase – Award Ceremony

The award ceremony for the National Phase of the European Statistics Competition 2023-2024 finalist teams took place today at the University of Cyprus. The ceremony was addressed by the Rector of the University of Cyprus and President of the Cyprus Statistical Society, Professor Tasos Christofides, the representative of the Minister of Education, Sport and Youth, Dr Yiannis Ioannou, and the Director of the Statistical Service, Mr Stavros Karagiorgis.

In Cyprus, the competition, which has been established as an annual event, is organised by the Statistical Service, the Ministry of Education, Sport and Youth, the University of Cyprus and the Cyprus Statistical Society. Participation in the national phase of the competition is open to all secondary education level students, studying at any officially recognised educational institution in Cyprus. Students participate in teams of 2 to 3 pupils, each with a teacher from their institution acting as the tutor. The teams participated in one of two categories, Category A: Upper Secondary Education and Category B: Lower Secondary Education.

In this year's competition, 449 students took part, forming 154 teams. The first eliminatory assignment included: (a) a basic knowledge test, (b) a use of official statistical data sources test and (c) an Interpretation of statistical reports test. The top 10 teams with the highest score in the upper secondary education category and the top 11 teams (due to a 2-team tie for the 10th place) in the lower secondary education category qualified to the Second Assignment, in which they had to prepare a statistical analysis presentation based on a given dataset. A jury assessed the projects and the winners were announced at the end of the process.

The co-organisers express their warm congratulations to all the teams that participated and excelled in the competition! The teams that were awarded are:

Category A: Upper Secondary [up to 18 years on 31/12/2023]

1st Award (each student: amount of €200, tutor: 1 tablet)


Members: Michalis Oikonomidis, Alexandros Stavrou, Constantinos Tornaritis

Tutor: Christos Anastasiades

School: Laniteio Lyceum


2nd Award (each student: amount of €50, tutor: 1 graphic tablet)


Members: Andria Pornari, Antonis Solomou, Constantinos Christoforou

Tutor: Andri Elpidoforou

School: Apostles Petros and Pavlos Lyceum


Honourable Mention is granted to the teams:

Team: NEMO

Members: Maria Kambanella, Nikolas Kefalonitis, Erene Constaninou

Tutor: Nikolas Germanos

School: Lyceum A’ Ethnarchy Makariou C’ Pafos



Members: Giorgos Vrachimis, Andreas Michaelides, Maria Tzounaka

Tutor: Christos Theodoulou

School: Lyceum Archibishop Makariou C’ Dasoupolis



Members: Nektarios Avraamides, Takis Solomonides, Giorgos Styllas

Tutor: Aphrodite Matthaiou

School: Laniteio Lyceum


Category B: Lower Secondary [up to 16 years on 31/12/2023]

1st Award (each student: amount of €200, tutor: 1 tablet)


Members: Andrea Antoniou, Danae Kypridaki, Maria Filippou

Tutor: Maria Mavragani

School: Petraki Kyprianou Gymnasium


2nd Award (each student: amount of €50, tutor: 1 graphic tablet)


Members: Irini Pittali, Kyprianos Raphael Savva, Andreas Christodoulou

Tutor: Argyroula Jizi Catalanou

School: Archangelos Gymnasium


Honourable Mention is granted to the teams:


Members: Evanthis Erotokritou, Alexandros Constantinou, Marinos Nikolaides

Tutor: Ifigenia Arsiotou

School: Laniteio Gymnasium



Members: Sofia Boustra, Lidia Papademetriou, Maria Tsaggaridou

Tutor: Stella Christodoulou

School: Kyriakos Neocleous Engomi Gymnasium



Members: Constantinos Markidis, Andreas Christodoulou

Tutor: Georgia Stefanou

School: Athinaideio Gymnasium Katholikis